Learning to knit socks

 

I’ve wanted to knit socks for a long time. I tried knitting socks maybe seven years ago but didn’t get too far. Recently I’ve decide to have another go at it.

This time I’m doing toe up and using a craftsy tutorial by Susan B. Anderson called My First Toe-Up socks.

I had the choice of “worsted” yarn or “fingering”. I wanted to do the thicker for my first pair but couldn’t find 10 ply (worsted) weight yarn. I asked for suggestions on an Australian facebook group and apparently it is a common weight in America but not here. At their suggestion I substituted for an 8 ply wool that is on the larger size of 8 ply. They suggested I went up a needle size but I found my gauge was off, so I ended up using the needle the pattern suggested.

Here’s my progress after 5 re-starts.

dsc_3257

I found I was getting ladders between the needles despite pulling really tight at the first stitches on each needle.

dsc_3260

I also found my sock was pointing up as I knit it. I usually knit with my right needle under my armpit, so somehow this translated to knitting on the far-side of my ring, which apparently is wrong. I switched to the near-side and it helped with the ladders.

dsc_3262

 

dsc_3264

My pattern had an afterthought heel, but I was anxious to try it, so once I got past the heel I switched the active stitches over to a circular needle and worked the heel. The nearest needle I could find big enough for yarn was a bone one— a “you know you’re a reenactor when” moment.

dsc_3267

dsc_3269

Working the heel meant I could continue to try the sock on as I went.

dsc_3270

I didn’t knit any of the sock on the circular needles, was just using them as a stitch holder. I find circular needles too akward for knitting with- probably because there’s nothing to tuck under my arm or brace against my body.

dsc_3272

And here it is, waiting for the ends to be woven in.

dsc_3297

7 thoughts on “Learning to knit socks

  1. Great sock! Two things I’ve found very helpful for avoiding ladders is to use 4 needles to hold the stitches and knit with a 5th on double pointed needles and when you change needles and you pull that first stitch tight, do the same thing with the second stitch. Good luck! You’ll be addicted before too long:)

    Like

    • Thanks! I stuck with 3 plus the active needle because it was easier to follow my instructions. Once I get better I’ll look at using more needles. I was pulling the first two stitches tight with each needle, but I found switching to knitting on the needles close to me helped. Thanks for the advice 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done I knit a lot of socks but cannot get away with knitting them toe up or on circular needles. I always use dpn’s. Its lovely to have nice snuggly warm socks when the weather is cold and after I knitted my man his first pair he will have nothing else, but be warned it becomes adictive.

    Like

    • I’ve tried circular needles for both knitting in the round and in the flat and don’t like them, so I think I’ll be sticking to DPNs too. I’ve ordered some smaller ones for my sock yarn but the longest I could find was 20 cm. I’ll see how I go with the shorter ones– I think modern knitters perfer shorter needles but I like them long.
      I am inspired by all the pretty sock draw photos I see see as well as all the pretty sock yarn so I’m trying to resist buying more until I have at least another pair knitted up!

      Like

      • I always have sock wool in my stash because if I am knitting a complicated pattern that I cannot knit when I go to my local Knit and Knatter a pair of socks is just the thing, but I also love to look at the wonderful sock patterns and I have several books on the subject. I always go back to the basic sock though if I don’t feel like consentrating. Best Wishes

        Like

Leave a Reply

