Alpaca Sunrise

Last year I treated myself to the November Spinning Box. One of the fibres inside was a sheet (possibly a bat?) of alpaca. I tore it into strips based on colour.

dsc_3306

I then spun the strips in to a single

dsc_3311

 

dsc_3316

 

dsc_3320

Then I chain plied it.

dsc_3328

 

dsc_3338

I’m new to chain plying so I didn’t do it too evenly. Here it is after washing, I think it is slightly underplied as well as the uneven tension on the chain plying, but I like it how it is.

 

dsc_3343

4 thoughts on “Alpaca Sunrise

  1. If you decided that it is underplayed, just wind it into a ball and run it through the wheel again to add a bit more ply twist. If you do a fairly long make (say, a couple of feet) it will also even out the twist a bit. Just don’t add much–feed it on quickly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

