Cushions for Mother

It’s been ages since I’ve done some weaving and I found a bulky thick and think yarn on sale, so I picked it up with a thought to make some cushions for my mother.

I used a synthetic mohair for the warp and warped up for a weft dominant weave.

After weaving a header of plain yarn I switched to the thick and thin. I was planning on alternating but instead I stuck with the thick and thin. Before I wove each pick I lay the yarn over the warp and used my pickup stick to pick up more threads over the thin parts of the yarn and less over the thick. This made the thick parts stand out more. I was going for a ‘pebbles on the beach look’

dsc_1312

Here is my first cushion front on the loom:

dsc_1325

and some taken while I was sewing it up:

dsc_2879

dsc_2876

I was worried the texture was too overpowering  so for the second I just wove a stripe of the texture.

dsc_2831

I sewed up the cushions using some wool I found at a second hand store on a trip to Sydney.

dsc_2882

dsc_2881

Mum loved them!

dsc_2885

Leave a Reply

