Lap of Spring

So I bought a ‘lap’ of silk merino, not sure what a lap actually is but basically it was a big huge sheet of softness.

dsc_1600

dsc_1471

When I bought it I had intended it to be used in a chunky textured weave cushion. When it arrived the colour was more lime green than the teal I expected and the fibre was so fine and beautiful it called out for fine spinning. So I tore it into strips, spun two singles and spun it.

dsc_1636

dsc_1481

The colours of the lap ranged from yelow to teal.

dsc_1597

dsc_1627

dsc_1642

Once I had spun two singles I plyed them together

dsc_2260

dsc_2261

Now to decide what to make! I’m thinking a soft shawl or scarf.

Leave a Reply

